Title: The Dream Protocol: Descent (Book 1)

Author: Adara Quick

Genre: Sci Fi & Fantasy; Teens & YA

Rating: 4/5 stars

Filled with suspense and creativity, The Dream Protocol: Descent is a book about a teenage girl standing up for her values, friends, and family in a controlling, futuristic world.  Adara Quick had me hooked within the first few pages, and the building tension through the story made it very engaging.  I very much enjoyed the mysterious settlement Quick created which was the backdrop of the story.   I was reminded of elements from The Hunger Games, Divergent, The Giver, and The Maze Runner, yet the world was its own unique place.  Though some of the dialogue and relationships were geared toward teens (this is a novel classified as young adult fiction and is about teens), and though there were some scattered details that I found curious about a society so rigid and technologically advanced, these did not ruin the experience for me. I found this to be a fun read and have already recommended the book to a couple people. I am looking forward to the sequel coming out this Winter 2016!

 

*I received a free copy from NetGalley to review

 

