Title: Applesauce Weather

Author: Helen Frost

Illustrator: Amy June Bates

Genre: Children’s fiction

Rating: 4/5 stars

Warm and poetic, Applesauce Weather recounts a special yearly visit of a story-telling uncle to his niece and nephew. The atmosphere is rustic and homey with a sense of nostalgia. The writing is very poetic, like a form of word art. The perspectives change frequently, and sometimes seemed to change suddenly. I was reading this on the kindle app on my iPad, though, which may have altered some of the formatting (it definitely did for the pictures). Accompanying the book were illustrations throughout in the form of detailed black and white sketches, which really helped one picture the faces of the characters. If I were to guess at a grade-level for this book, I would put it at a 3rd to 5th grade reading level (depending on the child), in order for them to keep up with the frequently shifting perspectives, understand the social nuances, and appreciate the poetic elements. This book was a cozy and well written piece of poetic children’s fiction.

 

*I received a free copy from Netgalley in exchange for my honest review.

 

 

