Have you ever had a story impact you, your views, and the way you view things?  Even as a child, I believe books were impacting me and the way I lived.  I think The Little Engine That Could subtly played in my head as I worked through a challenging task.  In a book we read in 3rd grade, a child did a prank of putting toothpaste on a toilet seat.  Of course, my friend and I had to try this as well!

Stories can be used as a force for good.  They can enlighten and help people see things in a different light.  Stories can remove people from themselves and their blindspots and give them a different perspective.  I got this inspiration from a recent message at church.  Though the focus of the teaching wasn’t on writing stories, but rather pursuing justice with kindness and humility before God (see Micah 6:8), one of the examples was of a story being used (see 2 Samuel 12).

In my dream of becoming a writer (of fiction), one thing that I would like to include is a deeper meaning, a deeper message, a deeper truth in my writing (at least some of it).  I would like it to be a vehicle that can bring more than just entertainment.  In a day when there is so much going on, so much tension, so much confusion, so much darkness, so many misunderstandings, why not try stories as one vehicle to communicate; why not use stories as a way to reach a greater depth of understanding, to shed light on truth, to inspire hope, and to touch hearts and lives?

_______

Micah 6:8

He has told you, O man, what is good;
and what does the Lord require of you
but to do justice, and to love kindness,[a]
and to walk humbly with your God?

