It’s been a while since I’ve last written- just over two weeks.  When I think about what to post about, I’ve had a hard time coming up with a topic.  Most of my blog topics have been posts centered on either expanding on writing advice or exercises I’ve come across or reviewing books.  I don’t feel like I have much to say in either of these categories currently, so I just thought I’d post a personal update that is related to my pursuit of learning to write.

Reading  I’m currently in the middle of another Netgalley read for a review: Brainwalker.  It’s been a really cool middle grade read so far and when I finish I do plan to post a review here.  I did take a little bit of a break from it, though, to read some just-for-fun and no-plan-to-review reads, though.  I finished The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes by Diane Chamberlaine, and I just finished the audiobook version of Enclave by Ann Aguirre.  I think Diane Chamberlaine does a fantastic job of developing complex characters, and for Enclave I would describe it as a dystopian novel (a term I’ve come to learn recently as I’ve taken up this journey in learning more about the field of writing), which is one of my favorite genres.

Writing I’ve thought of a couple ideas, briefly started on one of them, and have read a little bit of writing advice.  It’s been pretty slow going in the past couple weeks (see the snail picture above).

Goals The Fall 24 hour short story contest is coming up in September.  I had wanted to enter again, but it may clash with a friend’s birthday celebration, so I’m not sure if it will work out this time.  Another ambition is to participate in NaNoWriMo in November.  Thirdly, I would really like to attend a writer’s conference and am hoping to attend my first one in 2017.  There have been a couple different ones I’ve been eyeing.

That’s all for now.  It’s been a slow journey lately, but I plan to keep moving forward.

 

